Government issues ban on travel to extreme-risk states

In connection with the spread of more aggressive mutations of the coronavirus, the Czech government has banned Czech citizens and foreigners residing in the Czech Republic from travelling to countries with an extreme risk of these mutations as of February 26.

The list of extreme-risk states include Botswana, Brazil, Swaziland, South Africa, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Tanzania (including Zanzibar and Pemba), Zambia and Zimbabwe.

In the event of urgent trips which cannot be postponed travellers are obliged to notify the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic about their trip via the ministry’s database DROZD. Violations of this measure will be sanctioned under the Public Health Protection Act.