Visegrad Four summit ends

The presidents of the Visegrad Four -the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary and Poland -ended a two day summit in Prague on Saturday, vowing to step up their cooperation and pool their power to achieve common goals within the EU. The four post-communist countries worked together to join the EU and frequently coordinate their stands as EU newcomers. In Prague they expressed disapproval over the possibility that their entry to the Schengen border free zone could be delayed by a year, saying they would push together for the original date to be observed. In regional matters: the Slovak President Ivan Gasparovic and his Hungarian counterpart Laszlo Solyom said they would make a concerted effort to curb nationalist tensions in the two neighbor states.