Visegrad four confirm plans for joint military group

At a meeting on Monday, the prime ministers of the four Visegrad Group countries – the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, and Poland – confirmed plans to form a common military unit by 2016. The V4 battlegroup would have around 3,000 troops from all four member countries and would be ready to join EU rapid-reaction units if necessary. The Czech Republic is planning to contribute up to 800 soldiers and three transport helicopters. By creating the joint battlegroup, the Visegrad countries are hoping to save resource, while creating fulfilling their obligations to the EU.

Author: Masha Volynsky