Updated travel restrictions valid as of June 15

Source: Ministry of Interior of the Czech Republic

Foreigners who are planning to visit the Czech Republic in the coming weeks and months might be confused by the constantly changing information regarding coronavirus travel restrictions. Who exactly will be allowed to travel to the Czech Republic and under what conditions? Here is an updated overview of measures that will come into force on June 15, 2020.

Source: Ministry of Interior of the Czech Republic
Czech Republic–Germany border,  photo: ČTK / Slavomír Kubeš

To help foreign nationals who are thinking of travelling to the Czech Republic in the near future, the Ministry of Interior has published a comprehensive table outlining the conditions under which they will be allowed entry to the country starting next Monday.

The table is based on a map unveiled by the government last week, which divides European countries into three categories: “high-risk”, “medium-risk” and “low-risk”.

According to the red-orange-green distinction, a vast majority of European countries have been identified as “low-risk” (green) and include all of the Czech Republic’s neighbouring states, that is Slovakia, Poland, Germany and Austria.

Photo: World Bank Photo Collection,  Flickr,  CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

The citizens and residents of these countries will be able to enter the Czech Republic without any restrictions. The same applies to Czech citizens and foreigners residing in the Czech Republic when returning from these “safe” destinations.

Meanwhile, Italy, Spain, France, Portugal, Belgium, the Netherlands and Ireland have been identified as “medium-risk”(orange), while the UK and Sweden have been listed “high-risk” (red) meaning that citizens and residents of high-risk and medium-risk countries are banned from entering the Czech Republic with certain exceptions.

Czech citizens and foreign resident in the Czech Republic can return from these countries, but those travelling from the UK and Sweden are required to produce a negative COVID 19 test or undergo a two-week quarantine upon their return.

Photo: RJA1988,  Pixabay,  CC0 1.0 DEED

In order to by-pass the ban on non-Czech citizens coming from the medium and high-risk countries, you need to fulfil certain criteria specified by the Protective Measure issued by the Ministry of Health.

You are allowed to travel to the country if you had been issued a temporary residence permit for a period longer than 90 days or a permanent residency permit in the Czech Republic prior to March 12, 2020.

Entry will also be granted to those foreigners who work in international transport, critical infrastructure, as well as diplomats and members of international organisations accredited with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Travel to the Czech Republic is also allowed for specific groups that can provide a negative test for the presence of the COVID-19 virus, which isn’t older than four days, including EU citizens who need to enter the country for the purpose of economic activity or tertiary education, key scientists, seasonal, health care and social care workers.

This also applies to spouses and children under 18 belonging to residency holders, as well as those who hold a long term visa and need to travel to the country in order to receive their residency permit.

The conditions for entering the Czech Republic can change for any given country depending on the health situation there. Foreign nationals thinking of travelling to the country are therefore advised to follow the websites of the Interior and Health Ministries.