Thirty MPs, 10 senators miss inauguration

In related news, 30 MPs on Friday were absent from the inauguration on Friday; 10 senators who declined to attend, responded in advance in writing. The presidential pledge is taken before both houses of Parliament. The largest number of those who were absent were lawmakers from centre-right party TOP 09 (which nominated Karel Schwarzenberg for president in the recent election). Others absent included former Social Democrat David Rath (remanded in custody awaiting trial and former Civic Democrat Roman Pekárek – who began a five-year prison term last month.

Author: Jan Velinger