Sparta seal 37th league title with draw at Slovácko

Sparta Prague have been crowned Czech football league champions for the 37th time in the club’s history. Sparta sealed the title after a 0:0 draw away to Slovácko on Tuesday evening gave them an unassailable lead in the penultimate round of the “superstructure”, in which the division is split into three mini-leagues at the end of the season.

Around 1,500 Sparta fans had travelled to Slovácko’s ground in the Moravian town of Uherské Hradiště to see them win the league for the first time in nine years.

Author: Ian Willoughby