Russia lists Czech Republic, USA as “unfriendly states”

Russia on Friday formally designated the Czech Republic, as well as the United States, as “unfriendly states”, in a list included with a government decree signed by Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin.

The Czech embassy will be allowed to employ no more than 19 Russian nationals and the US embassy none at all, Moscow said. Kremlin spokesman Dmitry Peskov said that Moscow remained open for dialogue, stressing that there were only two nations on its “unfriendly states” list.

Tensions between Prague and Moscow have spiralled since the Czech government accused Russian military intelligence of being behind a deadly ammunition depot explosion in 2014 and expelled Russian diplomats, triggering escalating tit-for-tat expulsions.

Author: Brian Kenety