Russia and Tunisia added to list of Covid travel ban states

The Ministry of Health has issued a ban on people from the Czech Republic travelling from the country to Russia, from Thursday, and to Tunisia, from the start of next week. The move comes in response to concerns over the spread of new variants of the coronavirus.

Protective measures prohibit all citizens of the Czech Republic and foreigners resident in the country from entering states with an extreme risk of contracting Covid-19. As of Wednesday there are 14 countries on that list, including India and a number of African and South American states.

The travel ban does not apply to citizens of the states in question, or to journeys that cannot be postponed of which the Czech Ministry of Foreign Affairs has been notified in advance.

Author: Ian Willoughby