Parliament elects new deputy chairpersons

Five deputies have been elected to the post of deputy chairpersons in the first round and second rounds of a secret ballot. Those elected in the first ballot were: Social Democrat Lubomir Zaoralek, Lucie Talmanova of the right-of-centre Civic Democrats, Christian Democrat Jan Kasal, and the Communist Party's Vojtech Filip.

Only one, nominee Miroslava Nemcova, failed to gain enough votes in the first ballot, but was elected in the second.

Author: Jan Velinger