New EU members form coalition to fight for dropping of US visa requirements

The foreign ministers of the Visegrad Four and the Baltic states have agreed to join forces in an effort to achieve a visa-free regime for travelling to the United States. At the instigation of Czech Foreign Minister Alexandr Vondra they agreed in New York City on Thursday to form a "Coalition for Visa Equality" within which they will coordinate their steps. Of the newest EU member countries, only Slovenian citizens are exempt from visas when travelling to the United States. A new campaign targeting American citizens of Czech origin aims to gain their support to have visa requirements dropped for Czechs.