Five Czechs nominated for EU Literature Prize for new, emerging writers

Five Czech authors have been nominated for the European Union Prize for Literature awarded annually to new and emerging writers. They are Anna Bolavá, Miřenka Čechová, Lucie Faulerová, Matěj Hořava and Daniel Hradecký.

The winners will be announced on May 18 while the award ceremony will take place in Brussels in late September, Czech jury chairman Pavel Mandys told the ČTK news agency.

The award, which includes a 5,000 euros cash prize, was first given out in 2009. It aims to provide a forum for European writers little known outside of their home countries. Three Czechs have won the prize: Bianca Bellová (2017), Jan Němec (2014) and Tomáš Zmeškal (2011).

Author: Brian Kenety