European Parliament to pressure states on EU constitution

The president of the European Parliament Josep Borell has stated that it is the responsibility of all twenty-five EU member states to try and ratify the EU Constitution -on hold after France and the Netherlands rejected the document in referenda last year. Speaking during a visit to Finland Mr Borrel said that the parliament would push for the ratification of the document in countries that have not decided yet: among them Great Britain, Poland, and the Czech Republic. In total, fifteen EU countries so far have ratified the document. The EU would like to see at least twenty back the constitution to pave the way for a special summit on the issue.

Author: Jan Velinger