European Parliament calls for open labour markets

The European Parliament has called on to the EU fifteen to lift a curb on workers from the newest European Union members, including the Czech Republic, who are still facing labour market restrictions. The only countries of the EU fifteen that have their labour markets open so far are Britain, Ireland, and Sweden. Finland, Spain, and Portugal will open their doors to labourers when a two-year transition period ends in May. Germany, Austria, and France will most likely refuse the European Parliament's request and uphold their restrictions on foreign workers.

Author: Dita Asiedu