European Commission to launch proceedings against Czechs for rejection of refugee quotas

The European Commission has decided to launch proceedings against the Czech Republic, Poland and Hungary for refusing to accept migrants allocated to them under a compulsory EU quota system. The news was announced by the commissioner for migration, home affairs and citizenship, Dimitris Avramopulos, in Strasbourg on Tuesday. The Czech Republic is adamant that it will not take part in the quota system, the country’s prime minister, Bohuslav Sobotka, told reporters. He said the Prague government had already prepared arguments with which to defend its position before the European Commission. Mr. Sobotka said the Czech Republic did not face any fines at present.

Author: Ian Willoughby