Culture Ministry hands out state awards in the arts sphere

The Czech Ministry of Culture traditionally handed out awards in the arts and culture sphere on the occasion of Czechoslovak Independence Day.

Due to the coronavirus restrictions the names of the laureates were announced online.

Michal Ajvaz received the Prize for Literature, Blanka Stárková for Translation.

The late Czech-born film director Miloš Forman received an award for lifelong contribution to cinematography in memoriam.

The list of 2020 laureates also includes Jiří Tichota from the folk spiritual quintet and former artistic director, now artistic advisor of the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival Eva Zaoralová.

The names of the eight winners can be found on the ministry‘s website.