CEFTA adopts common policy to remain BSE-free

Member countries of the Central European Free Trade Agreement (CEFTA) have adopted a common policy to keep the region free of the dreaded BSE, or Mad Cow disease. The Polish, Hungarian, Czech, Slovak, Romanian and Bulgarian agriculture ministers met in Prague on Thursday to unify CEFTA policy on EU imports and discuss ways of keeping their own beef safe. Daniela Lazarova spoke with Hugo Roldan, Czech agriculture ministry spokesman, to tell us more about the outcome of the talks.

And CEFTA members have agreed to meet every two months to evaluate the situation. The next meeting is to take place in Sofia, Bulgaria, at the beginning of May.