26 parties register for parliamentary elections

Twenty-six political parties and groupings have registered to run in the June parliamentary elections, compared to 29 in the last national election four years ago. Latest polls suggest that five parties can be expected to pass the five-percent threshold and make it to parliament: the right-of-centre Civic Democrats, the ruling Social Democrats, the Communists, the coalition Christian Democrats and for the first time the Green Party.