Vysegrád 4 countries sign agreement over military cooperation

The defense ministers of the Vysegrád 4 group’s countries on Friday met in the Czech city of Litoměřice, where they signed an agreement over the cooperation in matters of military defense within the framework of the European Union. The four countries are planning to form a defense unit with some 3000 members by 2016. Under the new cooperation, soldiers from the group’s countries would be training together and the four nations would combine funds to buy military equipment. Czech Defense Minister Alexandr Vondra said that this step was an important signal that Central European nations are capable of addressing military tasks together. The Vysegrád 4 group is an alliance of four Central European states – Hungary, the Czech Republic, Slovakia and Poland.

Author: Sarah Borufka