Four Communist MPs refuse to honour former president

Four Communist MPs announced their refusal to honour president Havel to their parliamentary club on Wednesday, including deputy chairman Stanislav Grospič and former party leader Miroslav Grebeníček. The club took no action but to note their dissent. Communist MP Pavel Hojda said he did not recognise Havel as president because the president had not recognised his party, refusing to negotiate with the Communist Party in spite of their Parliamentary mandate. He also criticised the bombing of Yugoslavia, which Mr Havel supported in 1999. The other 25 Communist parliamentarians apparently did take part in the ceremonies.