Academy of Sciences awards Czech, Polish historians for their research

The Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic on Friday awarded the František Palacký Honorary Medal to two historians, one Czech and the other Polish, for their contributions to the field.

They are Eva Semotanová from the Institute of History of the Academy of Sciences and Piotr Majewski, who works at the University of Warsaw. Semotanová is an expert in historical geography and Majewski an expert in modern European history.

Semotanová has helped create numerous historical atlases – including the award-winning flagship Academic Atlas of Czech History.

Majewski has written extensively on the Second World War, Czechoslovak President Edvard Beneš, and the Sudeten German question. He was lauded for deepening awareness of the history of the Czech lands in Polish society.

Author: Brian Kenety